Abstract Thoughts: ひきこもり (Hikikomori)

Posted on March 30, 2011

0


hikikomori


In 2010 I watched two Japanese visual entertainments, an anime called NHK ni Youkoso! and a movie by the name Tokyo!, both are great histories who talk about a very weird and dangerous culture called Hikikomori. A hikikomori, as I see it, is a modern hermit, overwhelm  by the stress and craziness of the world,  in a state of  total social isolation in your room or house, without giving a shit about the world because they don’t care  about you.  This happens a lot in Japan, where  society pressures demands so much from people,  that force these persons to stay away and live by himself in a room because they can’t handle it, even living for years in it, just watching TV, sleeping and eating delivered pizza.

Be aware of this culture scared me, because I may have suffer some kind of this Hikikomori phenomena. I’m a twenty six years old man overwhelm  by the things that happen in my country (Venezuela), specially where I live (Caracas, the third most dangerous city in the world) . I have few friends, so I spend a lot of time in my home alone, outside the world, playing a lots of MMO (Massive Multiplayer Online) and I don’t giving a shit about  what happen in my city, because I hate it. My dreams were gone, because I don’t belong here and all my weird ideas, such as web apps and music, movies and books creation  fell in deaf ears. This is transforming me in a bitter man, because Venezuela is killing those thoughts and I don’t know how to avoid it so far.

I really don’t want to be a bitter man, much less a Hikikomori, so I put my mind in an ice bucket and started to think how to escape and built ideas. My ideas belongs to someplace and time I guess, and I’m making progress to go there and make it real, with only one thing in mind :

Don’t forget your dreams, as soon as you do it, you will die in a sea of conformist.

I will avoid to become a Hikikomori and I will fulfill my dreams, no matter what, and I hope you do the same if you are in this situation, don’t lose hope, keep it strong. My first step was this blog so…

Bring it Bitches!

NHK ni Youkoso! main character, a Hikikomori

Posted in: Writing