Music for the abstract mind: Still Alive

Posted on December 7, 2010

2


Lisa Miskovsky


Lisa Miskovsky, a sexy Swedish girl make this great song that give me chills on my spine every time I hear it. “Still Alive” is the theme song for Mirror’s Edge, a first person action-adventure video game developed by EA Digital Illusions CE (DICE) and one of my favorites games of all times of this generation so far (I know the rest of the world hate it, but what can I do? I like it). The arrangements of this piece are simple but quite effective at the same time that, joining forces with the angelical voice of Lisa, make one of the most memorable pop song out there in recent memory, in a world full of Biebers and Hannah Motanas that are destroying the genre at epic proportions. The sound of the piece is very inspirational and emotive, is like a rush of nice and warm feelings that makes you want to love the whole world for a short period of time.

What the song means? Simple, moving on for the things that happens in your life, no matter how hard it is. Sometimes life come a screaming at us cover up with a smile, that is scary to see, because is the smile of comfort that make you live a steady life, without chasing your goals. Just don’t wait, keep running against the wind, sometimes you will lose, sometimes you will win, that’s it, face the smile of comfort that you fear.

All I can say is close your eyes and feel this good vibe from Sweden, I know you will enjoyed as much as I do.

 

I have changed
just like you.
Just like you.

For how long?
For how long
must I wait?
I know there’s something wrong.

Your concrete heart isn’t beating
and you tried to
make it come alive.

No shadows,
just red lights.
Now I’m here to rescue you.

Oh I’m still alive,
I’m still alive.
I can’t apologise, no.

Oh I’m still alive,
I’m still alive.
I can’t apologise, no.

So silent,
no violence.
But inside my head
so loud and clear.

You’re screaming…
You’re screaming…
Cover up with a smile I’ve learned to fear.

Just sunshine
and blue sky.
That’s just how it goes
for living here.

Come fire,
come fire,
let it burn and love come racing through.

Oh I’m still alive,
I’m still alive.
I can’t apologise, no.

Oh I’m still alive,
I’m still alive.
I can’t apologise, no.

Learn to lose,
learn to win,
turn my face against the wind.

I will move fast,
I will move slow.
Take me where I have to go.

Oh I’m still alive,
I’m still alive.
I can’t apologise, no…

Posted in: Entertainment, Music