Music for the abstract mind: I am the Resurrection

Posted on October 20, 2010

1


The Stone Roses


In some place in Manchester, around 1984 – 1989,  four guys under the curse of poverty and social classes madness in UK, form a band that will change everything, while in USA, some weird people wear tight pants, makeup and singing saggy songs. The Stone Roses lineup consisted of vocalist Ian “The Monkey King” Brown, guitarist John Squire, bassist Gary “Mani” Mounfield, and drummer Alan “Reni” Wren. Fathers of the Madchester movement and cocky as hell, they did not last too long, but in fact, they composed one of the most revolutionary songs/album of the history of  rock. In this section we are talking about I AM THE RESURRECTION.

I cannot think of any song that fills me with the same amount emotion and pure enjoyment. Brilliant drumming, awesome bass, cool lyrics and one of the greatest guitar solos in history. A masterpiece of an instrumental after the masterpiece that is the song which, in its day, was quite a feat of courage considering house music was coming into its own. An extremely uplifting song that, when played at maximum volume, makes you feel like you are actually “the resurrection and the light”. In fact, all the album (named The stone roses) is a masterpiece that I personally recommend, one of those weird “perfect albums” .

What’s the song about? This song is obviously about a relationship that has soured. The line “I am the resurrection and I am the life” was seen by Brown outside a church in Chorlton, Manchester. Nothing to do with him feeling like he’s Jesus. Fits perfectly, one relation is over, now comes the rebirth.

So let’s see what I mean and I hope you like it.

 

Lyrics

Down, down, you bring me down

I hear you knocking down my door

And I can’t sleep at night

Your face it has no place

No room for you inside my house

I need to be alone

 

Don’t waste your words

I don’t need anything from you

I don’t care where you’ve been

Or what you plan to do

 

Turn turn I wish you’d learn

There’s a time and place for everything

I’ve got to get it through

Cut loose ’cause you’re no use

I couldn’t stand another second

In your company

 

Don’t waste your words

I don’t need anything from you

I don’t care where you’ve been

Or what you plan to do

 

Stone me why can’t you see

You’re a no one nowhere washed up baby

Who’d look better dead

Your tongue is far too long

I don’t like the way it sucks and slurs

Upon my every word

 

Don’t waste your words

I don’t need anything from you

I don’t care where you’ve been

Or what you plan to do

 

I am the resurrection and I am the life

I couldn’t ever bring myself

To hate you as I’d like

 

I am the resurrection and I am the life

I couldn’t ever bring myself

To hate you as I’d like

Posted in: Entertainment, Music